Making time

Making Time #BISsisterhood Blessed is She

Do you ever feel like life is a treadmill? Like life is a series of events, meetings and endless to-do lists? I am the kind of girl who likes to get to the bottom of her to do list before she sits down with a cuppa so oftentimes, that means I never sit down! There is just so much to do, that if I just keep going, it will get done eventually.

Well, that’s the theory but, as you can imagine, it never pans out that way. Discontent surfaces on two fronts: my unfinished to do list, and never getting round to putting my feet up and unwinding with my husband…

In our fast-moving, multi-tasking, tightly-scheduled lives, the idea of making more time sounds like an impossible dream. But, is it?

If I were able to make more time, I would watch my daughter go to sleep, instead of running through my mental lists while I am at her bedside… I would pick up the phone and call a friend, instead of pinging a text message because its quicker… I would sit down with my husband and immerse myself in his favourite TV show, instead of concentrating on my knitting, and not really watch the show at all.

And what about God? I confess,  I often run out of time with Him too. There are times when I fall asleep while reading my Magnificat. Sometimes, I am so tired I say a very truncated night prayer. Often, I rush through prayer without giving God a chance to say something to me. And spending time with Our Lord in the Blessed Sacrament chapel seems like it’s no longer an option with a one-year old toddler at my side…

How can I make more time? By putting God first; I could forgo a lie-in to read my Magnificat. I could spend that coffee break reading Scripture instead of a magazine. I could turn off the lunchtime news and pray the Angelus. During a jog or a walk, I could pray the rosary before I let my mind wander. I could make an effort to get to daily Mass on a regular basis. I could even co-ordinate nap time with adoration, and sit in silence with Jesus. Making time can seem impossible, but if we are able to make time for God, then He’ll help us handle the rest.

This post is part of the Blessed Is She link-up on the theme of making time. Head over there to read more posts in the link-up.

One thought on “Making time

  1. Great thoughts! It is SO hard in our fast-paced culture to really be present to people, to God. But being conscious of it is the first step to making it happen. 🙂 Thanks for linking up with Blessed is She this week!

    Like

Leave a Reply

