7QTs: Surviving My First Year of Motherhood

7qts surviving my first year of motherhood talking about family blogWhile my baby will always be my baby, she will turn one and officially become a toddler tomorrow. Where does the time go? Here are seven quick takes on a few things that have helped get me through this first year as a new mum!

  1. Spiritual Life

Since I became pregnant, I turn to Mother Mary a lot more. She’s my role model in a whole new way.  When my little one was born, taking her to Mass seemed like a big deal. It was huge. And stressful! But, we’ve never had a huge drama and have only had to leave the pew a few times! Deo Gratias! Phew!

  1. Post-natal Pilates

After pregnancy and giving birth, I wondered if my body would ever be the same. Thanks to post-natal Pilates, my body feels a lot stronger. I would definitely recommend it to any new mum!

  1. Couch 2 5k

NHS Choices Couch to 5k

My couck 2 5k programme

Baby weight falls off some women. Not me. I had to work. Very hard. I decided to do a couch 2 5k programme, because it’s easy to get up and out, and I could do it with baby. I bought a second hand jogger buggy, so I wouldn’t have to wait until my husband came home, and wouldn’t be able to use ‘it’s dark/ cold/ wet’ as an excuse. It’s worked really well and I am hoping to do my first race this summer!

  1. Not stressing

As a FTM (first time mom), there is a lot to learn, and a lot to worry about. In addition, people like to chime in with their opinions and unsolicited advice, often conflicting the books / the professionals / the internet / each other. It can be so confusing! I am learning to not worry about things to the nth degree, and am learning to trust myself!

  1. Meal planning and batch cooking

Even having a huge bowl of salad or prepared veggies in the fridge is a big help!

Even having a huge bowl of salad or prepared veggies in the fridge is a big help!

Motherhood has made me be more organised. Time is a luxury! I am learning to meal plan and have started experimenting with batch cooking. It’s definitely the way forward!

  1. Cheating

Take shortcuts! For example, if time is of the essence at meal time, don’t worry about cooking something fresh or defrosting something pronto. Use store-bought baby food. It’s not the end of the world!

  1. Groups

It took me a while to get connected to some local toddler groups. Some mums swear by them, and go to a group every day of the week. I am not one of those mums, but I do know which group is on which day, and that I can drop in whenever I like.  That works for us.

I could have made a longer, better thought-out list, but these are my quick takes! Do you have any tips for new mums? What would be top of your list?

Thanks to Kelly for hosting 7QTs! For more quick takes, hop on over to This Aint the Lyceum!

2 thoughts on “7QTs: Surviving My First Year of Motherhood

  1. Hi! Could you inform me more about the Couch 2 5k? I’m a first time mom with a 7 month old child and fitting everything with my available time is so hard 😉 would love to learn some from you 😉

    Like

    • Sure! There are loads of C25k programmes out there. I used one from the NHS in the UK – http://www.nhs.uk/livewell/c25k/pages/couch-to-5k-plan.aspx

      It starts off with intervals of light jogging (not running!) and walking i.e. I think the first week is 60 seconds jogging, 90 seconds walking.

      For the first few weeks, the runs were do-able in the pram. After a few weeks, I realised I could do the programme, I bought a second hand jogger buggy online. This is deffo more comfy for LO!

      I have found its increased my fitness, I’ve lost weight, and generally feel better and healthier. Go for it- and if its something you think you can stick to, specially fitted running trainers would be a good treat around week 5- deffo worth the investment!

      Good luck and let me know if you have any more questions!

      PS There is also a NHS Couch 2 5k community who are really supportive and full of advice and tips!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

